2018 SPICE Cup Chess! $16,550 guaranteed!

Chess Playing Dates: October 23–28, 2018 (Tuesday - Sunday)

2018 SPICE Cup Chess Open

$16,550 Guaranteed – Free chess entry to GMs, IMs, WGMs, WIMs, FIDE-rated players over 2300+, and all foreign players with 2100+ FIDE (must complete all 9 rounds), by 10/1.

Sponsored by Webster University and the Susan Polgar Foundation
St. Louis, Missouri
October 23–28, 2018 (Tuesday - Sunday)

GM/IM/WGM/WIM norm opportunity – Minimum rating FIDE 2100
October 2018 rating will be used. FIDE & USCF rated
Time Control: G/90 + 30 second increment from move 1

Chess Prizes:

$16,550 guaranteed
U/2400 FIDE $600-$400-$250
U/2250 FIDE $400-$250-$150
Top Woman $250-$150 (Can win both open + women prize)
Top Senior 50 and older $250-$150 (Born prior to January 1, 1968 – Can win both open + senior prize)
Top Junior 14 and under $250-$150 (Born after January 1, 2004 - Can win open, junior and women)

Limited FREE hotel accommodation (double occupancy) at the Clayton Plaza Hotel available to GMs.

Chess Entry Fees:

Free to GMs, IMs, WGMs, WIMs, FIDE-rated players over 2300+, and all foreign players with 2100+ FIDE (must complete all 9 rounds), by 10/1. $100 later or on site. The rating minimums are to be met at the time of registration (or at any time starting June 2018 until the start of the tournament). $100 to FIDE 2200-2299, $200 to FIDE U-2200 if received by 9/30. Additional $50 later or on site.

Chess Dress Code:

Casual or business casual. No shorts or flip flop allowed.

Chess Playing Venue:

Clayton Plaza Hotel
7750 Carondelet Ave, St Louis, MO 63105 (FREE shuttle from the Lambert – St. Louis International Airport)
$119/night, FREE Hot Breakfast/Internet/Parking
For reservations guests should call 314-726-5400 and ask for “In House Reservations”
Group Name is SPICE Cup; Group Code is SCQ

You can also make reservations online:

Send entries to:

Webster University – SPICE (Chess)
470 E. Lockwood Ave
St. Louis, MO 63119

Chess questions or chess registration: Email: spice@webster.edu or call 314-246-8075

Past SPICE Cup Chess Champions:

2007 GM Eugene Perelshteyn
2008 GMs Harikrishna Pentala, Alex Onischuk, Var Akobian
2009 GMs Yuriy Kuzubov, Dmitry Andreikin, Rauf Mamedov
2010 GM Alex Onischuk
2011 GM Le Quang Liem
2012 GM Maxime Vachier-Lagrave – GM Ray Robson (Open Champ)
2013 GMs Alexander Ipatov, Kayden Troff
2014 GM Illia Nyzhnyk
2015 GM Le Quang Liem
2016 GMs Sam Sevian, Ray Robson
2017 GMs Lazaro Bruzon, Yuniesky Quesada, Dariusz Swiercz

​List of registered players as of September 2018

​Cori Jorge Peru GM
Bruzon Batista Lazaro Cuba GM
Bok Benjamin Netherlands GM
Durarbayli Vasif AZE GM
Lenderman Aleksandr USA GM
Nyzhnyk Illia UKR GM
Prohaszka Peter Hungary GM
Shimanov Aleksandr RUS GM
Quesada Yunieski Cuba GM
Gledura Benjamin Hungary GM
Cordova Emilio Peru GM
Liang Awonder USA GM
Chandra Akshat USA GM
Tang Andrew USA GM
Patel Advait USA IM
Wang Kevin USA IM
Escalante Brian Peru IM
Kavutskiy Kostya USA IM
Ostrovskiy Aleksandr USA IM
Duran Vega Sergio CRC IM
Wang Justin USA FM
Grabinsky Aaron USA
Kiewra Keaton USA IM
Wang Tianqi USA
Williams Justus USA FM
Peng David USA FM
Colas Joshua USA FM
Santarius Erik USA FM
Moon Benjamin USA
Betaneli Alexander USA FM
Ghazarian Kirk USA
Watson John USA IM
Daggupati Balaji USA FM
Polgar-Shutzman Tom USA
Eckert Doug USA FM
Polavaram Rithik USA
Gosdin Kaleb USA