Brand new Judges for FIDE Trainer Awards


The International Chess Federation (FIDE) and the FIDE Trainers’ Commission (TRG) invites nominations for the Trainer Awards 2018. Eligible are all FIDE trainers with a valid license for 2018 and 2019, except for the TRG Chairman and Secretary and the Executive Director.

We are looking for the best achievements in 2018 in the following categories:

The Mikhail Botvinnik Award for an achievement by a trainer of men or a team in an open event
The Vakhtang Karseladze Award for an achievement by a trainer of women or a team in a women’s event
The Mark Dvoretsky Award for an achievement by a trainer of juniors or a team in a junior event for Juniors
The Tigran Petrosian Award for Special Achievements
The Yuri Razuvaev Award for Contributions to Trainer Education

The panel of judges consists of both experienced players and trainers and have been balanced

Word Champion Vladimir Kramnik
World Champion & FST Susan Polgar
World Champion Zhu Chen
World Champion & FST Antoaneta Stefanova
GM & FST Eugene Torre
GM & FST Alonso Zapata
GM & FST Slim Bouaziz

Eligible to nominate are:

FIDE Office Bearers
Continental Chess Federations
National Chess Federations
TRG Commission Members
FIDE Endorsed Academies

Do note that the same person cannot be nominated in more than one category from the same eligible body.

The nomination form must be submitted by email to TRG Secretary Peter Long ( by 31 August 2019.

The judges’ decision is final and not open to discussion, nor shall the judges be requested to give any justification beyond what they wish to, with their final announcement.

The Boleslavsky/Averbakh Award will be judged separately.