Chess giants Karjakin & Hakrishna sent home from the World Cup


The return games of the third round of FIDE World Cup were played on September 17. None of the players who had lost in the first game managed to level the score today.

The tournament’s sensation Kirill Alekseenko (Russia) defeated the higher-rated Pentala Harikrishna (India) in both games.

Also Alexander Grischuk (Russia) won both games against Xu Xiangyu (China). Shakhriyar Mamedyarov (Azerbaijan) defeated his compatriot Eltaj Safarli, Welsey So (USA) beat Santosh Vidit (India), Nikita Vitiugov (Russia) knocked out Sergey Karjakin (Russia), Dmitry Andreikin (Russia) lost to Jan-Krzysztof Duda (Poland), Maxim Matlakov (Russia) lost to Levon Aronian (Armenia), and Teimour Radjabov (Azerbaijan) won the match against Daniil Yuffa (Russia).

Both games were drawn in Yu Yangyi-Wei Yi, Ding Liren-Firouzja, Svidler-Nisipeanu, Nepomniachtchi-Tomashevsky, Artemiev-Le Quang Liem, Vachier-Lagrave-Jakovenko, Wang Hao-Dominguez, and Giri-Xiong.

The tie-break games will be played on September 18.

Text: Eteri Kublashvili

Match 3 - Game 2 (bold = advanced while others are in the playoff tomorrow)

Andreikin, Dmitry Duda, Jan-Krzysztof ½-½
Artemiev, Vladislav Le, Quang Liem ½-½
Ding, Liren Firouzja, Alireza ½-½
Grischuk, Alexander Xu, Xiangyu 1-0
Harikrishna, P. Alekseenko, Kirill 0-1
Karjakin, Sergey Vitiugov, Nikita ½-½
Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar Safarli, Eltaj ½-½
Matlakov, Maxim Aronian, Levon 0-1
Nepomniachtchi, Ian Tomashevsky, Evgeny ½-½
Svidler, Peter Nisipeanu, Liviu-Dieter ½-½
Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime Jakovenko, Dmitry ½-½
Vidit, Santosh Gujrathi So, Wesley ½-½
Wang, Hao Dominguez Perez, Leinier ½-½
Wei, Yi Yu, Yangyi ½-½
Xiong, Jeffery Giri, Anish ½-½
Yuffa, Daniil Radjabov, Teimour ½-½

Match 3 - Game 1

Alekseenko, Kirill Harikrishna, P. 1-0
Aronian, Levon Matlakov, Maxim ½-½
Dominguez Perez, Leinier Wang, Hao ½-½
Duda, Jan-Krzysztof Andreikin, Dmitry 1-0
Firouzja, Alireza Ding, Liren ½-½
Giri, Anish Xiong, Jeffery ½-½
Jakovenko, Dmitry Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime ½-½
Le, Quang Liem Artemiev, Vladislav ½-½
Nisipeanu, Liviu-Dieter Svidler, Peter ½-½
Radjabov, Teimour Yuffa, Daniil 1-0
Safarli, Eltaj Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar 0-1
So, Wesley Vidit, Santosh Gujrathi 1-0
Tomashevsky, Evgeny Nepomniachtchi, Ian ½-½
Vitiugov, Nikita Karjakin, Sergey 1-0
Xu, Xiangyu Grischuk, Alexander 0-1
Yu, Yangyi Wei, Yi ½-½