Indonesian men, Chinese women win Asian Universities Chess Championships


Yoseph Theolifus Taher won the individual chess championship and led the Gunadarma University of Indonesia to victory in the 2nd Asian Universities Chess Championships held 26 May to 2 June at the Tagaytay International Convention Center in Tagaytay City, Philippines.

FIDE General Secretary Abraham Tolentino opened the event among eight countries, namely Indonesia, China, Malaysia, India, Japan, Pakistan, Nepal and host Philippines. The tournament was organized by the City of Tagaytay under the auspices of the National Chess Federation of the Philippines, the Philippine Sports Commission and the Asian Chess Federation.

FM Taher, 18, scored 7 points out of 9 rounds to finish half a point ahead of top seed IM Xu Yi of China. The Chinese led all the way only to suffer a last round loss to Indonesian IM Fatid Firman Syah.

Taher led the Gunadarama team to victory with teammates Ali Muhammad Lutfi with 6.5 points and Firman Syah Farid with 6 points for a total of 19.5 points.

The Shanghai University of Finance & Economics finished a half point behind for second place from the scores of Xu Yi and Wang Chen with 6.5 points each and Wang Yiye with 6 points.

It was an all-China show in the women’s chess division won by WGM Wang Jue with 7.5 points followed by WIM Qiu Mengie with 7 points and Nie Xin with 6.5 points.

The Shanghai University of Finance & Economics won the women’s team event with 18 points from scores of Qui Mengjie, 7, Nie Xin,6.5 and Liao Rui, 4.5. Capital University of Physical Education and Sports of Beijing placed second with 17.5 points from scores of Wang Jue, 7.5, Liu Manli, 6, and Hu Yu A., 4.

Visit for round by round results and to download games. Visit for report.

FIDE General Chess Secretary Abraham Tolentino making the ceremonial opening moves with WGM Wang Jue of China. Looking on are various representatives in the Asian Universities Chess Championships.

FM Yoseph Theolifus Taher (center) receives his gold medal. From left are National Chess Federation of the Philippines Executive Director Red Dumuk, Chief Arbiter IA Bong Bunawan, Asian Chess Federation Executive Director Casto Abundo, Taher, bronze medalist IM Ali Muhammad Lutfi of Indonesia, silver medalist Xu Yi of China and GM Eugene Torre.

WGM Wang Jue (third from left) receiving her gold medal together with silver medalist WIN Qiu Mengie and bronze medalist Nie Xin.

The chess champion Gunadarma University of Indonesia. Coach GM Susanto Megaranto (fourth from right) receives the trophy from Tournament Director Michael Lapitan of Tagaytay City.

The women‘s champion chess team of the Shanghai University of Finance and Economics.

The delegation of the Capital University of Physical Education and Sports of China.

The delegation of the Osmania University of India led by Major KA Shiva Prasad (center).

The delegation of the Philippines with chess GM Eugene Torre (center).

News by