Intrigue at All India Chess Federation’s (AICF) Elections


Patel new AICF President, Chauhan Secretary: Returning Officer (Lead)
Published on :Tue 11th February 2020, 10:48 PM
By Venkatachari Jagannathan

Chennai, Feb 11 (IANS) Bringing down the curtains on the All India Chess Federation’s (AICF) elections, the Returning Officer, former Supreme Court judge, Justice Fakkir Mohamed Ibrahim Kalifulla on Tuesday declared five persons as elected unopposed for various posts for the period 2020-2023.

The five are Ajay H. Patel as President, Bharat Singh Chauhan as the Secretary, Naresh Sharma as Treasurer, M. Arun Singh as Joint Secretary and Vipnesh Bharadwaj as Vice President.

In his order Kalifulla also said the proposed election scheduled on February 23 in Hyderabad cannot take place.

“As the election process has been concluded, all original relevant files will be forwarded to the Registry of the High Court, Madras on February 12,” he said.

However, the opposing camp is still hopeful.

“The final outcome of the election will be decided by the Madras High Court. We are still hopeful,” FIDE zone 3.7 President R.M. Dongre, a former Maharashtra state player, told IANS.

Full article here: