Mamedyarov & Nakamura lead St Louis Rapid & Blitz going into the final day


Chess standings after 18 rounds

The Saint Louis Rapid and Blitz chess is the third stage of the 2018 Grand Chess Tour. The 10-player chess tournament takes place in the Chess Club and Scholastic Center of Saint Louis from 11-15 August and sees tour regulars Aronian, Caruana, Nakamura, Anand, Karjakin, MVL, So, Mamedyarov, Grischuk and wild card Dominguez.

The chess prize fund is $150,000, with $37,500 for 1st place. The rapid section is a single round-robin with 3 rounds each day on the first 3 days at a time control of 25 minutes for all moves and a 10-second delay from move 1. The final 2 days are a blitz double round-robin, with 18 rounds of 5 minutes + 3-second delay blitz.

Rapid chess games count double, with 2 points for a win and 1 for a draw. A tie for first place will be decided in a 2-game Rapid mini-match (10min + 5sec delay), only between the top two, and if necessary an Armageddon game (5 vs. 4). The playoff takes place shortly after the last round.

Round 18

Aronian, Levon Grischuk, Alexander 0-1

Dominguez Perez, Leinier Caruana, Fabiano 0-1

Karjakin, Sergey So, Wesley 0-1

Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar Anand, Viswanathan 1-0

Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime Nakamura, Hikaru ½-½

Round 17

Anand, Viswanathan Aronian, Levon ½-½

Caruana, Fabiano Karjakin, Sergey 1-0

Grischuk, Alexander Dominguez Perez, Leinier 1-0

Nakamura, Hikaru Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar 1-0

So, Wesley Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime ½-½

Round 16

Aronian, Levon Nakamura, Hikaru 1-0

Dominguez Perez, Leinier Anand, Viswanathan ½-½

Grischuk, Alexander Caruana, Fabiano 1-0

Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar So, Wesley 1-0

Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime Karjakin, Sergey 1-0

Round 15

Anand, Viswanathan Grischuk, Alexander 1-0

Caruana, Fabiano Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime 0-1

Karjakin, Sergey Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar 0-1

Nakamura, Hikaru Dominguez Perez, Leinier 1-0

So, Wesley Aronian, Levon ½-½

Round 14

Anand, Viswanathan Caruana, Fabiano ½-½

Aronian, Levon Karjakin, Sergey ½-½

Dominguez Perez, Leinier So, Wesley 1-0

Grischuk, Alexander Nakamura, Hikaru ½-½

Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime 0-1

Round 13

Caruana, Fabiano Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar 0-1

Karjakin, Sergey Dominguez Perez, Leinier ½-½

Nakamura, Hikaru Anand, Viswanathan ½-½

So, Wesley Grischuk, Alexander ½-½

Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime Aronian, Levon ½-½

Round 12

Anand, Viswanathan So, Wesley ½-½

Aronian, Levon Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar 1-0

Dominguez Perez, Leinier Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime 0-1

Grischuk, Alexander Karjakin, Sergey ½-½

Nakamura, Hikaru Caruana, Fabiano ½-½

Round 11

Caruana, Fabiano Aronian, Levon ½-½

Karjakin, Sergey Anand, Viswanathan 1-0

Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar Dominguez Perez, Leinier ½-½

So, Wesley Nakamura, Hikaru 0-1

Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime Grischuk, Alexander ½-½

Round 10

Anand, Viswanathan Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime 0-1

Dominguez Perez, Leinier Aronian, Levon ½-½

Grischuk, Alexander Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar ½-½

Nakamura, Hikaru Karjakin, Sergey 0-1

So, Wesley Caruana, Fabiano 0-1