Nakamura leads Tata Steel India Blitz after day 1


Standings after day 1

1 Nakamura, Hikaru 6.5 28

2 So, Wesley 6 23.5

3 Aronian, Levon 5.5 23

4 Anand, Viswanathan 5 20.75

Harikrishna, P. 5 19.5

6 Vidit, Santosh Gujrathi 4 17.25

Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar 4 16.75

8 Praggnanandhaa, R 3.5 13.75

9 Karjakin, Sergey 3 14.75

10 Ganguly, Surya Shekhar 2.5 9.75

We are pleased to inform that India will be hosting its strongest ever chess tournament - Tata Steel India Chess 2018 at Kolkata from 9th to 14th November. The ten player round robin in Rapid and double round robin in Blitz has a formidable line up of the world's top players: Shakriyar Mamadeyarov, Levon Aronian, Wesley So, Hikaru Nakamura (all ranked world no. 2 earlier) and Sergey Karjakin (former world no. 4) will clash the swords with the Indian super talents five times world champion Vishy Anand, India no. two P. Harikrishna, the third best Indian player Vidit Gujrathi and the local hero GM SS Ganguly. The final slot in the Blitz goes to the world's second youngest grandmaster (after Karjakin) thirteen year old R. Paraggnanandhaa and the tenth player in the Rapid section is the teenage sensation GM Nihal Sarin, just one year older than Praggu.

Blitz Chess Schedule:



9 rounds blitz from 08:30 to 13:30


9 rounds blitz from 08:30 to 13:30