Nakamura wins St Louis Rapid & Blitz Chess, Anand last


The Saint Louis Rapid and Blitz chess is the third stage of the 2018 Grand Chess Tour. The 10-player chess tournament takes place in the Chess Club and Scholastic Center of Saint Louis from 11-15 August and sees tour regulars Aronian, Caruana, Nakamura, Anand, Karjakin, MVL, So, Mamedyarov, Grischuk and wild card Dominguez.

The chess prize fund is $150,000, with $37,500 for 1st place. The rapid section is a single round-robin with 3 rounds each day on the first 3 days at a time control of 25 minutes for all moves and a 10-second delay from move 1. The final 2 days are a blitz double round-robin, with 18 rounds of 5 minutes + 3-second delay blitz.

Rapid chess games count double, with 2 points for a win and 1 for a draw. A tie for first place will be decided in a 2-game Rapid mini-match (10min + 5sec delay), only between the top two, and if necessary an Armageddon game (5 vs. 4). The playoff takes place shortly after the last round.

Day 2 blitz results

Round 27

Anand, Viswanathan Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar ½-½

Caruana, Fabiano Dominguez Perez, Leinier ½-½

Grischuk, Alexander Aronian, Levon 1-0

Nakamura, Hikaru Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime 0-1

So, Wesley Karjakin, Sergey 0-1

Round 26

Aronian, Levon Anand, Viswanathan 1-0

Dominguez Perez, Leinier Grischuk, Alexander ½-½

Karjakin, Sergey Caruana, Fabiano 0-1

Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar Nakamura, Hikaru 0-1

Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime So, Wesley ½-½

Round 25

Anand, Viswanathan Dominguez Perez, Leinier ½-½

Caruana, Fabiano Grischuk, Alexander ½-½

Karjakin, Sergey Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime ½-½

Nakamura, Hikaru Aronian, Levon 1-0

So, Wesley Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar 1-0

Round 24

Aronian, Levon So, Wesley 1-0

Dominguez Perez, Leinier Nakamura, Hikaru ½-½

Grischuk, Alexander Anand, Viswanathan ½-½

Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar Karjakin, Sergey 1-0

Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime Caruana, Fabiano 1-0

Round 23

Caruana, Fabiano Anand, Viswanathan 1-0

Karjakin, Sergey Aronian, Levon 1-0

Nakamura, Hikaru Grischuk, Alexander 1-0

So, Wesley Dominguez Perez, Leinier ½-½

Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar 1-0

Round 22

Anand, Viswanathan Nakamura, Hikaru ½-½

Aronian, Levon Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime 1-0

Dominguez Perez, Leinier Karjakin, Sergey ½-½

Grischuk, Alexander So, Wesley 0-1

Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar Caruana, Fabiano 1-0

Round 21

Caruana, Fabiano Nakamura, Hikaru 0-1

Karjakin, Sergey Grischuk, Alexander 0-1

Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar Aronian, Levon 1-0

So, Wesley Anand, Viswanathan 0-1

Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime Dominguez Perez, Leinier 1-0

Round 20

Anand, Viswanathan Karjakin, Sergey ½-½

Aronian, Levon Caruana, Fabiano 0-1

Dominguez Perez, Leinier Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar 1-0

Grischuk, Alexander Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime 0-1

Nakamura, Hikaru So, Wesley ½-½

Round 19

Aronian, Levon Dominguez Perez, Leinier 1-0

Caruana, Fabiano So, Wesley ½-½

Karjakin, Sergey Nakamura, Hikaru 1-0

Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar Grischuk, Alexander ½-½

Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime Anand, Viswanathan ½-½

Grand Chess Tour Points