Playoff, Armageddon, and Drama to decide the final 8 at Riga Grand Prix


The Riga Grand Prix is a knock-out (or single-elimination) event. It’s a format where the loser of each match is immediately eliminated from the tournament, and the winner will play another winner in the next round, until the final match, whose hero becomes the Grand Prix Champion.

There will be four rounds in the Grand Prix. Each consists of two games with the classical time control 100’ for 40 moves (50’/20+15’) and 30 seconds per move. In case of a tie, there is a tie-breaks round, consisting of two games with 25 minutes and 10 seconds per move for each player. If the score is still tied, there are two games with 10 minutes and 10 seconds per month for each player. If it’s still a tie, it’s followed by 2 blitz games of 5 minutes and 3 seconds per move. If the score is tied, then there is an Armageddon game.

The tournament has a prize fund of €130,000. Also, prizes for overall standings in the Series are €280,000, making the total prize fund of the Series €800,000.

Round of 16 results

GM Karjakin, Sergey 2748 defeated GM Giri, Anish 2779 (5-4)
GM So, Wesley 2763 defeated GM Harikrishna, Pentala 2734 (2.5-1.5)
GM Duda, Jan-Krzysztof 2729 defeated GM Svidler, Peter 2737 (2.5-1.5)
GM Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar 2765 defeated GM Dubov, Daniil 2700 (1.5-0.5)
GM Grischuk, Alexander 2766 defeated GM Vitiugov, Nikita 2727 (3-1)
GM Yu, Yangyi 2736 defeated GM Aronian, Levon 2756 (4-4 in Armageddon)
GM Topalov, Veselin 2740 defated GM Nakamura, Hikaru 2754 (2.5-1.5)
GM Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime 2775 defeated GM Navara, David 2734 (1.5-0.5)

Quarterfinal matchups

GM Karjakin, Sergey 2748 - GM So, Wesley 2763
GM Duda, Jan-Krzysztof 2729 - GM Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar 2765
GM Grischuk, Alexander 2766 - GM Yu, Yangyi 2736
GM Topalov, Veselin 2740 - GM Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime 2775