Travel Subsidy for Batumi Chess Olympiad


FIDE is pleased to announce the travel subsidy for participants for the Chess Olympiad & Congress, Batumi, Georgia 2018. All federations will receive more travel subsidy in 2018 than they did for Baku in 2016. Many teams that did not receive a team grant in 2016 will do in 2018. They are Nigeria, South Africa, Bhutan, Chinese Taipei, Malaysia, Thailand, Iceland, Ireland, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine & Wales. In addition the ECU will be paid 30,000 euros to assist federations that are not receiving any travel subsidy.

All attending delegates will receive a travel grant. FIDE wants delegates to be present at the General Assembly and reduce the number of proxies from federations.

The team subsidy is based on two teams of 5 players for the Open & Women’s event, plus team captain for each chess team and a head of chess delegation. This is a total of 13 persons. The subsidy will be reduced pro rata for every federation that does not have 13 accredited persons present. Above these 13 persons, the travel grant will be paid for a federation’s delegate without exception.

Any person amongst the thirteen accredited persons that is receiving a travel grant as a chess arbiter or a delegate cannot also receive a subsidy as part of the team and the team subsidy will be reduced pro rata.

Teams that have a captain assigned to them by the Trainers Commission also may not claim an extra travel subsidy for these captains covered by the Chess Trainers Commission.

See listing