Awonder Liang wins back to back US Junior Chess Championship!


Final standings

Needing only a draw in the final round, Awonder Liang did just that against Akshat Chandra to win the US Junior Chess Championship for 2nd straight years! Congratulations!

The U.S. Junior Closed Chess Championship was held between 12 and 21 July 2018. On the prestigious chess tournament junior players under the age of 21 are competing for a chess prize fund of $20,600. The chess players receive 90 minutes for 40 chess moves, followed by 30 minutes to the end of the game, plus a 30-second increment starting from move one.

Final round

Bian, Alex Balakrishnan, Praveen 1-0

Brattain, Mika A Tang, Andrew 0-1

Liang, Awonder Chandra, Akshat ½-½

Patel, Advait Li, Ruifeng 1-0

Wang, Annie Burke, John M ½-½

Round 8

Balakrishnan, Praveen Liang, Awonder 0-1

Burke, John M Patel, Advait ½-½

Chandra, Akshat Brattain, Mika A 0-1

Li, Ruifeng Bian, Alex 1-0

Tang, Andrew Wang, Annie 1-0

Round 7

Brattain, Mika A Balakrishnan, Praveen ½-½

Burke, John M Li, Ruifeng 0-1

Liang, Awonder Bian, Alex 1-0

Patel, Advait Tang, Andrew ½-½

Wang, Annie Chandra, Akshat ½-½

Round 6

Balakrishnan, Praveen Wang, Annie 1-0

Bian, Alex Brattain, Mika A 1-0

Chandra, Akshat Patel, Advait 1-0

Li, Ruifeng Liang, Awonder ½-½

Tang, Andrew Burke, John M 0-1

Round 5

Brattain, Mika A Liang, Awonder 0-1

Burke, John M Chandra, Akshat ½-½

Patel, Advait Balakrishnan, Praveen ½-½

Tang, Andrew Li, Ruifeng ½-½

Wang, Annie Bian, Alex 0-1

Round 4

Balakrishnan, Praveen Burke, John M ½-½

Bian, Alex Patel, Advait 0-1

Chandra, Akshat Tang, Andrew 1-0

Li, Ruifeng Brattain, Mika A ½-½

Liang, Awonder Wang, Annie 1-0

Round 3

Burke, John M Bian, Alex 1-0

Chandra, Akshat Li, Ruifeng 1-0

Patel, Advait Liang, Awonder ½-½

Tang, Andrew Balakrishnan, Praveen 0-1

Wang, Annie Brattain, Mika A 0-1

Round 2

Balakrishnan, Praveen Chandra, Akshat ½-½

Bian, Alex Tang, Andrew 1-0

Brattain, Mika A Patel, Advait 0-1

Li, Ruifeng Wang, Annie 0-1

Liang, Awonder Burke, John M ½-½

Round 1

Balakrishnan, Praveen Li, Ruifeng ½-½

Burke, John M Brattain, Mika A ½-½

Chandra, Akshat Bian, Alex 0-1

Patel, Advait Wang, Annie 1-0

Tang, Andrew Liang, Awonder ½-½